The week the dull ache, throbs…

There is a dull ache in my heart constantly, that is currently throbbing. A difficult week of reflection. A nightmare that re-plays itself daily and in the days leading up to “it”, drives the pain in a way that is indescribable, except to those who have experienced it.

For you Daniel, I will continue to stand strong. I am here to encourage others who are “new at it”. I have figured it out. I don’t like it. As a matter of fact, I still hate it. I will never tell anyone it gets easier. BUT, I know it…it has become familiar.

It is not like any death I have or will still experience because you are my child. Nothing compares to the love you have for your child and nothing can compare to the pain of losing that child.

For you Daniel, I will continue to live each day in an attempt to honor your sacrifice. I am forever grateful for your courage, your kindness, and your willingness to do this selfless service.

Missing you, doesn’t begin to describe it. Twelve years without you, March 7, 2009.

Thank you for being such an incredible son, brother, friend and leader.

ALWAYS SMILING…

4 thoughts on “The week the dull ache, throbs…

  1. Such a good, good person. I sometimes hesitate to read your thoughts about him because I know my heart will ache and the tears will come. I never met him but that photo I saw of him years ago made me want to learn more… and over the years I feel I’ve grown to know him…. and you. I’m thankful for both of you.
    Love,
    Martha (West Point mom)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glenda,

    This brought tears to my eyes not only because it is a reminder of this day but also because of the pain you, Brian and Andrea go through. I do know without a doubt that Daniel is so very proud of all of you and how strong you are. When I say you are an inspiration it is an understatement. I think of you often when I am dealing with something hard. “Be like Glenda” I tell myself.

    “Pretending to be happy when you are in pain is an example of how strong you are as a person.”

    Love you! ~ Judy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment