Well summer is in full swing! As I write, my husband is outside in the 100 degree temp. (9:30am) attaching a line to each plant that is currently being watered by hand. It is really the only way, once the heat/extreme dryness sets in.

I’m learning to find plants and trees that will thrive in the environment they are placed in. I used to get really upset when plants didn’t make it. Now I realize it’s just survival of the fittest. (Those things that can tolerate their environment)

This tree is called a dessert willow. We noticed them as soon as we moved here and I LOVE this tree. It is easy to keep cut back to a good size, pretty (it drops a lot) but anything that flowers is going to be messy. I don’t mind the dropping flowers, since it colors the dirt.

IMG_0121

I wanted color in spring and discovered these little cactus. I’d seen them in the garden department but never thought much of them until my daughter bought one for herself. I decided that would be a great way to have a little color distributed here and there.

IMG_0118IMG_0119IMG_0120FullSizeRender (69)

And the tree that fell over and up-rooted during winter, is doing fantastic. The fast action of getting it back in the ground and treating the roots really paid off. It is very healthy! The pictures below are winter, right after we got it back up, and today!

treeIMG_0123

My favorite thing in the heat of summer, is to sit back in my air conditioned house and look at everything pretty outside.

IMG_0126IMG_0127FullSizeRender (70)

Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated. – Confucius

 

Leave a Reply

