My thumb is pretty green. I guess you either have it, or you don’t. However I live in an environment with TONS of rocks and heat. So last year I took up painting rocks.

You know, sometimes you want a little color in places you don’t have water, but hand watering can get old. So I thought if I brightened up a few rocks, I wouldn’t need so many flowers! It’s fun, inexpensive and something to do when you just can’t be outside because of the heat. You could even have your kids try a few for a little summer, indoor project! What a nice keepsake for grandparents and parents, to have an original from your favorite toddlers.

IMG_0104

I do spray my rocks with granite sealer after they are dry but out in the sun and heat they still need periodic touch ups! Miss lady bug up above could use a touch up but Mr. bumble bee holds up pretty well. I’m sure it has a lot to do with the rock and where the rock sits outside. The bumble bee is in the shade most of the time.

The other day I saw a cute idea and decided to paint my own happy cactus. In the desert I need at least one happy cactus, right? After a little granite spray today, she is going outside to join the lady bug and the bumble bee! Give it a try! It’s so much fun! Happy Friday!

FullSizeRender (68)

One thought on “Don’t have a green thumb? get paint!

Leave a Reply

